XBimmers X1   XBimmers X1
  XBimmers X1

Go Back   XBimmers | BMW X1 Forum > BMW X1 Forums > X1 DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Discussions

05-04-2018, 07:59 PM   #1
jonfarrell
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2013 BMW X1 2.8 sDrive

Exclamation Changed brake pads...now very soft pedal

Newbie here but long time BMW owner, thanks for allowing me to join the discussion group. Removed tire, removed caliper, installed new OEM pads on front, reinstalled caliper, reinstalled wheel. Now very soft brakes and significantly less stopping power. Brake fluid is fine, I bled the brakes on both sides of front, nothing but brake fluid coming out the bleeder. Any ideas? Some say the ABS unit must be bled, how the h*ll did air suddenly get in the ABS system, the hydraulic system was never compromised at all. The cap on brake reservoir was on all the time. Damn German car (JK I love it). Any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2018, 08:26 PM   #2
jonfarrell
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2013 BMW X1 2.8 sDrive

Also, when the car is off, the brake pedal pumps up really hard, then when the car starts, the brakes go immediately soft and all the way to the floor. Before I changed the pads, everything in the braking system functioned 100%. This is so puzzling....
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2018, 05:59 PM   #3
Riche3
Rep
Drives: X Drive , Jet Black Shines

Newbie brakes

With engine off ,if you pump the brake pedal ....it will exhaust the brake servo of any vacuum .

When fitting new brakes , the efficiency will be less ...until they are bedded in which can take up to 400 miles .
So no harsh braking during this period .

I would advise that you get some one who is qualified to look over your braking system to check if it is okay to be used for public highways ,

as if it has brakes fitted incorrectly it could dangerous to use .

05-11-2018, 11:20 AM   #4
thestimp
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 22 X3MC MBB - C-17 Globemaster

Garage List
2022 X3mC  [10.00]
2016 BMW M3  [0.00]