XBimmers X1   XBimmers X1
  XBimmers X1

Go Back   XBimmers | BMW X1 Forum > BMW X1 Forums > General BMW X1 (E84) Forum

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-29-2016, 03:24 AM   #1
RENT-A-GOAT
First Lieutenant
RENT-A-GOAT's Avatar
United Kingdom
42
Rep
330
Posts

Drives: E91 Lci Exclusive Edition
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Warwickshire

iTrader: (0)

Updating the Nav software on the X1

Am posting this for my dad he bought his X1 a couple of weeks ago (BMW AUC) and has noticed it isn't running the latest nav software now I know he could just take it to our local dealer pay his money and have it done. But what's the other (cheaper) options with nav software upgrades? He's only asking because he overspent on his car getting a real belter along with the needed accessories (dog guard, load-liner, bars & box) & refresh of his detailing kit for it. He's 70 but still a big kid when it comes to his cars.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2016, 08:31 AM   #2
4llr
Private
1
Rep
75
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 2012
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: QC, Canada

iTrader: (0)

You need a FSC code and maps data. You can order one from people on this forum, ebay or website like http://www.bmwfsc.ca/
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2016, 06:11 AM   #3
RENT-A-GOAT
First Lieutenant
RENT-A-GOAT's Avatar
United Kingdom
42
Rep
330
Posts

Drives: E91 Lci Exclusive Edition
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Warwickshire

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for this information
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2016, 02:39 PM   #4
DUI Elite
///M at Heart
DUI Elite's Avatar
56
Rep
1,965
Posts

Drives: 06 SGM E90, 15 BSM E84
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (4)

FSC code is not required for map updates. I updated mine without FSC code
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2016, 04:51 PM   #5
4llr
Private
1
Rep
75
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 2012
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: QC, Canada

iTrader: (0)

FSC code is required, except if you have a lifetime one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DUI Elite View Post
FSC code is not required for map updates. I updated mine without FSC code
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2016, 09:03 PM   #6
bratwurst1
Private
9
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 2014 428i X drive
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

I'm confused.
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2016, 11:31 PM   #7
Xolinlevh
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 xDrive 2.8
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Twin Cities, MN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bratwurst1 View Post
I'm confused.
It is possible to have a lifetime code in your car already (possibly dealer programmed?) this is what mine has. I went through the steps to GET a code and then as soon as i plugged in the USB drive with the new map files it just installed them without ever asking for a code. If you DONT have the lifetime code you will need to either buy one or generate your own.
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2016, 10:17 AM   #8
RENT-A-GOAT
First Lieutenant
RENT-A-GOAT's Avatar
United Kingdom
42
Rep
330
Posts

Drives: E91 Lci Exclusive Edition
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Warwickshire

iTrader: (0)

All very confusing how do you find out what code you have lifetime or other is this information I can get from the dealer might be worth a call to see what they say?
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2016, 02:02 PM   #9
Xolinlevh
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 xDrive 2.8
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Twin Cities, MN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RENT-A-GOAT View Post
All very confusing how do you find out what code you have lifetime or other is this information I can get from the dealer might be worth a call to see what they say?
Honestly no idea how to tell in advance what key is on your car. May be worth a call to the dealer to ask. Though also you could just download the map files, load em onto a USB drive, plug it in, and if it starts updating without asking for a key...then you have a lifetime one already.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2016, 08:55 AM   #10
Aerospike
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
113
Posts

Drives: 2014 X1 35i
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: The Beach, NC

iTrader: (0)

Where do we download the map files?
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2016, 03:59 PM   #11
Xolinlevh
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 xDrive 2.8
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Twin Cities, MN

iTrader: (0)

https://mega.nz/#!4ggGSLDJ!bDngWrKfv...FE2Pj367HJ3LOw
Appreciate 1
      08-29-2016, 09:14 AM   #12
Aerospike
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
113
Posts

Drives: 2014 X1 35i
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: The Beach, NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xolinlevh View Post
Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2016, 07:42 AM   #13
jaeezzy
Enthusiast
jaeezzy's Avatar
1
Rep
303
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 sDrive18d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xolinlevh View Post
Do you happen to have link for Australia Map data as well? Thanks
__________________
...

jaeezzy...
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2016, 02:26 PM   #14
4llr
Private
1
Rep
75
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 2012
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: QC, Canada

iTrader: (0)

FYI I was able to generate a FSC code and update my own maps using a simple ENET cable (yes even with the E-series, no K-CAN cable required). If you are a bit tech savvy, just follow everything here: www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1154524

Total cost: 12$ (the cable)
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2016, 10:19 AM   #15
themishmosh
Second Lieutenant
13
Rep
286
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 xDrive35i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4llr View Post
You need a FSC code and maps data. You can order one from people on this forum, ebay or website like http://www.bmwfsc.ca/
Thanks for the lead. Very reasonable pricing for the lifetime code!
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2016, 02:34 PM   #16
jas_
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: '09 328i Convertible (e93)
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xolinlevh View Post
worked great! Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2016, 10:27 PM   #17
jaeezzy
Enthusiast
jaeezzy's Avatar
1
Rep
303
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 sDrive18d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Got the lifetime FSC code from bimmer-tech and bought the 2016 Map data through bmwfsc.ca, put it in a USB stick, inserted it in the USB slot in the Glove box and the car automatically detected the newer version Map data and asked to update or cancel. I thought updating might take a while due to the size of the map data but I think it only took 3-4 minutes max.
__________________
...

jaeezzy...
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2016, 07:22 AM   #18
themishmosh
Second Lieutenant
13
Rep
286
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 xDrive35i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaeezzy View Post
Got the lifetime FSC code from bimmer-tech and bought the 2016 Map data through bmwfsc.ca, put it in a USB stick, inserted it in the USB slot in the Glove box and the car automatically detected the newer version Map data and asked to update or cancel. I thought updating might take a while due to the size of the map data but I think it only took 3-4 minutes max.
Maybe because it's Australia?

I just did 2017 NA Premium map and it took at least 30 minutes and 4 usb exchanges. The most frustrating thing was that after each USB stick, reinserting the next one didn't seem to automatically resume with the the update. Sometimes I had to re-insert the usb stick multiple times. I even tried two different usb sticks.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2016, 01:41 AM   #19
jaeezzy
Enthusiast
jaeezzy's Avatar
1
Rep
303
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 sDrive18d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by themishmosh View Post
Maybe because it's Australia?

I just did 2017 NA Premium map and it took at least 30 minutes and 4 usb exchanges. The most frustrating thing was that after each USB stick, reinserting the next one didn't seem to automatically resume with the the update. Sometimes I had to re-insert the usb stick multiple times. I even tried two different usb sticks.
wow 4 USB changes?? 30 minutes doesn't sound that long then But what's the capacity of those USBs? Map data for Australia/New Zealand I had was 2.7GB when zipped. Not sure what the actual size was after I unzipped it.
__________________
...

jaeezzy...
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2016, 03:06 PM   #20
Xolinlevh
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 xDrive 2.8
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Twin Cities, MN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaeezzy View Post
wow 4 USB changes?? 30 minutes doesn't sound that long then But what's the capacity of those USBs? Map data for Australia/New Zealand I had was 2.7GB when zipped. Not sure what the actual size was after I unzipped it.
my NA update similarly took 4 USB swaps and closer to 45min+. I forget the size but i want to say it was around 3 gigs as well. Is it possible you had a very recent version of the map and only updated 1 'version'? Mine when i looked had an early 2015 map on it still so 2015->2017 maps likely had a TON more data to update, hence the extra time.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2016, 03:10 PM   #21
Xolinlevh
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 xDrive 2.8
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Twin Cities, MN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaeezzy View Post
Do you happen to have link for Australia Map data as well? Thanks
Sorry I also just saw this and, no, dont have the AU map. But looks like you found it anyway
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2016, 09:09 PM   #22
jaeezzy
Enthusiast
jaeezzy's Avatar
1
Rep
303
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 sDrive18d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xolinlevh
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaeezzy View Post
wow 4 USB changes?? 30 minutes doesn't sound that long then But what's the capacity of those USBs? Map data for Australia/New Zealand I had was 2.7GB when zipped. Not sure what the actual size was after I unzipped it.
my NA update similarly took 4 USB swaps and closer to 45min+. I forget the size but i want to say it was around 3 gigs as well. Is it possible you had a very recent version of the map and only updated 1 'version'? Mine when i looked had an early 2015 map on it still so 2015->2017 maps likely had a TON more data to update, hence the extra time.
Same here.. Updating from '14 to '16. I was anticipating bit of a wait time for the update but to my surprise the update completed in just couple minutes. Maybe then there wasn't much to update i was hoping it would fix couple missing data but it didn't anyway. Is there anywhere we can check the change log for the map data to compare?
__________________
...

jaeezzy...
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 AM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST