XBimmers X1   XBimmers X1
  XBimmers X1

Go Back   XBimmers | BMW X1 Forum > BMW X1 Forums > X1 DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Discussions

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-29-2015, 02:08 PM   #1
improvius
Second Lieutenant
25
Rep
278
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 X28i
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

coding success!

I have successfully coded my X1! I can now close the windows and moonroof via the keyfob. It took a little while to get it all working, but I finally got NCS Expert up and running on an older Windows 7 laptop. Now to figure out what else I want to do...
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2015, 07:10 PM   #2
DRTMGRT
Second Lieutenant
DRTMGRT's Avatar
United_States
68
Rep
270
Posts

Drives: i3 REX
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: El Paso Texas

iTrader: (0)

I'd like to know how to do this and what are the other possibilities. Keep us posted.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2015, 05:47 PM   #3
improvius
Second Lieutenant
25
Rep
278
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 X28i
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

So far:
enabled keyfob windows up
disabled legal disclaimer screen
added option for digital speedo
disabled TPMS

Hmmm, what else should I try?
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2015, 05:59 PM   #4
DRTMGRT
Second Lieutenant
DRTMGRT's Avatar
United_States
68
Rep
270
Posts

Drives: i3 REX
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: El Paso Texas

iTrader: (0)

Driver seat belt warning disable?
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2015, 12:02 AM   #5
jaeezzy
Enthusiast
jaeezzy's Avatar
1
Rep
277
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 sDrive18d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

I have coded my car to do the following using just the BMWhat app for Android

- Auto-fold/unfold mirrors while locking/unlocking the car
- panic mode (press & hold hatch button in key fob for around 3 secs triggers the alarm)
- follow me home lights (double clicking on hatch button in key fob)
- digital speedometer
- one touch indicator to blink 5 times instead of just 3
- Audible locking (it beeps while locking the car)
- changed auto lock period to 1 min from 2 mins
__________________
...

jaeezzy...
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2015, 03:28 PM   #6
Njerts
Second Lieutenant
Canada
6
Rep
228
Posts

Drives: '14 X1 28i SportLine
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver,BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaeezzy View Post
I have coded my car to do the following using just the BMWhat app for Android
Which OBD2 adaptor did you use?
I have heard it is unreliable with certain adaptors.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2015, 10:13 AM   #7
jaeezzy
Enthusiast
jaeezzy's Avatar
1
Rep
277
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 sDrive18d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Njerts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaeezzy View Post
I have coded my car to do the following using just the BMWhat app for Android
Which OBD2 adaptor did you use?
I have heard it is unreliable with certain adaptors.
Bluetooth obd2 adapter.. with android I guess it was much more reliable if I remember correctly.. haven't had any issues yet..
__________________
...

jaeezzy...
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2015, 01:17 PM   #8
PrematureApex
Lieutenant Colonel
397
Rep
1,986
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Big thanks to improvius...

I'm also up and coding on an E82 and an E84 now. No more gongs, chimes, etc. Ahhh, the sounds of silence.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2015, 01:17 AM   #9
Njerts
Second Lieutenant
Canada
6
Rep
228
Posts

Drives: '14 X1 28i SportLine
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver,BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrematureApex View Post
Big thanks to improvius...

I'm also up and coding on an E82 and an E84 now. No more gongs, chimes, etc. Ahhh, the sounds of silence.
BMWhat is working really well, but I still get a little panic attack every time it write back the code changes

It seems like you have to the the OBD dongle from them to get it to work reliably though. I got the bluetooth one from them for an Android phone.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2015, 10:00 AM   #10
PrematureApex
Lieutenant Colonel
397
Rep
1,986
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Got the Alpina TCU reflash (the older, more-liked version) working this morning.

First attempt at flashing bricked the car with the gear error. Got 100% through the coding, but never gave me the "coding complete" pop-up at the end, but rather, asked if I wanted to start coding (again). I figured it didn't take, and sure enough, it didn't.

I tried flashing the trans back to the stock software, which worked perfectly fine, and coding ended like it should have. Car was drivable again, thank god.

Knowing I could always recover from a lock-out/gear error, I figured I'd give it another go. Sure enough, it worked the second time (with no other software/daten changes/updates. I guess it was a fluke error the first time?

Paddles didn't work right away, but after reading the EGS module in NCS per the below DIY, they functioned again.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=874072

Went from not being able to get software running 3 days ago, to having everything done this morning.

Last edited by PrematureApex; 07-31-2015 at 10:07 AM.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2015, 10:58 AM   #11
X1Denver
niner
United_States
5
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: 13 X1 Alpine Xdrive35i M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denver

iTrader: (0)

I got mine done a couple weeks ago. Best thing Ive done so far.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2015, 02:27 PM   #12
PrematureApex
Lieutenant Colonel
397
Rep
1,986
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by X1Denver View Post
I got mine done a couple weeks ago. Best thing Ive done so far.
What mode do you typically drive in? What are your impressions so far?

I used an older version, which doesn't shift SO soon in drive (adds a few hundred RPMs onto what the "regular" flash does). I may try the normal one too see if anything else is different.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2015, 03:59 PM   #13
X1Denver
niner
United_States
5
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: 13 X1 Alpine Xdrive35i M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denver

iTrader: (0)

Mostly in D.

Shifts way faster. Downshifts are much better and the paddles are what they should be.

I have the more aggressive one also.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2015, 09:57 PM   #14
Gunric
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW X1 xDrive35i ///M
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

I just did some coding using the iCarly wifi OBD and the iOS app. Worked great and 100 times simpler then what I have read others do.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2015, 02:45 PM   #15
PrematureApex
Lieutenant Colonel
397
Rep
1,986
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunric View Post
I just did some coding using the iCarly wifi OBD and the iOS app. Worked great and 100 times simpler then what I have read others do.
What are the limitations on what you can code with that software/interface/method?

IMHO, it's worth the time to get the "real" software up and running for the Alpina trans mapping alone. Really, really improves its operation, even in drive. So much quicker/more intuitive.

I'd probably say the same thing for the TPMS sensor delete/wheel speed tire pressure addition. Especially if you run two sets of wheels and tires. Saves you a lot of cost ridding yourself of the sensors.
__________________
'02 S54 M3 (500/500 GC/Koni)
'08 N54 135 (JB4, DCI, BMW PS/Bilstein B6s, H&R M3 FSB, Strongflex FCABs)
'14 N55 X1 (JB4, BMS DP, BMS Intake, Alpina TCU reflash, H&R Sports, Bilstein B6s, E93 M3 RSB, Strongflex FCABs)
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2015, 09:47 PM   #16
Njerts
Second Lieutenant
Canada
6
Rep
228
Posts

Drives: '14 X1 28i SportLine
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver,BC

iTrader: (0)

They do not support flashing, so no transmission firm ware updates.
Go to their website, they have all the things you can do, i would say good enough for the average user, which you are not😀
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2015, 10:48 PM   #17
PrematureApex
Lieutenant Colonel
397
Rep
1,986
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Njerts View Post
They do not support flashing, so no transmission firm ware updates.
Go to their website, they have all the things you can do, i would say good enough for the average user, which you are not😀
Wow, that takes care of the majority of things people do coding wise. Nice!

And I'm an average user (at best) when it comes to electronics/computers/etc. I was seriously intimidated for the longest time by the coding processes. After actually researching a bit, in hindsight, it's not hard at all.

An average user can certainly take it on, without a doubt. Worth it for the trans flash, imho.
__________________
'02 S54 M3 (500/500 GC/Koni)
'08 N54 135 (JB4, DCI, BMW PS/Bilstein B6s, H&R M3 FSB, Strongflex FCABs)
'14 N55 X1 (JB4, BMS DP, BMS Intake, Alpina TCU reflash, H&R Sports, Bilstein B6s, E93 M3 RSB, Strongflex FCABs)
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2015, 09:31 PM   #18
louisli
New Member
4
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: X1 2011 X25I
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

i'm in HK, just pay about $50-80 USD, then China can do remote coding,
for me i did:-

1/activate new LCI headlight (to replace the ugly candle xenon)
2/showing driving speed in digital instead of just looking at meter
3/press the auto start/stop 2 seconds to release the key jumping out from the lock
4/hold the key's door lock more than 2 seconds to fold the two doors' rearview mirrors

fyi
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2015, 02:48 PM   #19
BMW_Viking
New Member
BMW_Viking's Avatar
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: BMW X1 2.0xdrive 2010
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Oslo, Norway

iTrader: (0)

I am new to this. I downloaded the app (Carly Lite for BMW) at Google Play and then used Bluetooth on my phone to try to connect to the car (it works for telephone calls). It just stalls.. or at least works for an infinite time.. Should I go and buy the OBD cable or is there something I missed. Grateful for help.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2015, 03:13 PM   #20
improvius
Second Lieutenant
25
Rep
278
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 X28i
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

Yes, you need a special cable or OBD bluetooth adapter. I have not used the app yet, so I don't know much about which bluetooth adapter would be best.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2015, 12:04 PM   #21
Njerts
Second Lieutenant
Canada
6
Rep
228
Posts

Drives: '14 X1 28i SportLine
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver,BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by improvius View Post
Yes, you need a special cable or OBD bluetooth adapter. I have not used the app yet, so I don't know much about which bluetooth adapter would be best.
Go to their web site, it will tell you what you need.
I ordered my mine for Android from them and it works great.
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2015, 03:59 PM   #22
BM319
New Member
0
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: X1 s28i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

new to X1, new to BMW, this "coding" thing seems really interesting. Can someone direct me to some basic reading thing so I can know more about it.
Thanks.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 PM.




xbimmers
xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST