XBimmers X1   XBimmers X1
  XBimmers X1

Go Back   XBimmers | BMW X1 Forum > BMW X1 Forums > General BMW X1 (E84) Forum

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-27-2015, 07:26 PM   #1
Beamer1980
New Member
2
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: X1 xdrive28i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Winter Tires without TPMS

Recently purchased a 2015 X1 and will be getting a set of winter tires installed (non run flats). I didn't get any Tire Pressure Monitoring Sensors with the wheels and was wondering if this causes any issues with the electrical system, other than the symbol being constantly displayed on the instrument panel?
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2015, 07:43 PM   #2
PrematureApex
Colonel
515
Rep
2,288
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beamer1980 View Post
Recently purchased a 2015 X1 and will be getting a set of winter tires installed (non run flats). I didn't get any Tire Pressure Monitoring Sensors with the wheels and was wondering if this causes any issues with the electrical system, other than the symbol being constantly displayed on the instrument panel?
Nope, just ignore it. Or, if you can code, or can find someone local to you who can, you can code it out/unplug the unit to shut the light off for good.

You can also code back in the old-style ABS/wheel-speed based pressure monitoring system, and you'll never have to worry about sensors again!
__________________
'02 S54 M3 (500/500 GC/Koni)
'08 N54 135 (JB4, DCI, BMW PS/Bilstein B6s, H&R M3 FSB, Strongflex FCABs)
'14 N55 X1 (JB4, BMS DP, BMS Intake, Alpina TCU reflash, H&R Sports, Bilstein B6s, E93 M3 RSB, Strongflex FCABs, baby seat)
'08 N54 535xi touring (Bilstein B6s, Downpipes, MHD tune, baby seat)
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2015, 08:14 PM   #3
improvius
Second Lieutenant
34
Rep
279
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 X28i
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrematureApex View Post
You can also code back in the old-style ABS/wheel-speed based pressure monitoring system, and you'll never have to worry about sensors again!
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2015, 09:25 PM   #4
PrematureApex
Colonel
515
Rep
2,288
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by improvius View Post
OP...^^^this would be the guy.
__________________
'02 S54 M3 (500/500 GC/Koni)
'08 N54 135 (JB4, DCI, BMW PS/Bilstein B6s, H&R M3 FSB, Strongflex FCABs)
'14 N55 X1 (JB4, BMS DP, BMS Intake, Alpina TCU reflash, H&R Sports, Bilstein B6s, E93 M3 RSB, Strongflex FCABs, baby seat)
'08 N54 535xi touring (Bilstein B6s, Downpipes, MHD tune, baby seat)
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2015, 07:50 PM   #5
Beamer1980
New Member
2
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: X1 xdrive28i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2015, 10:58 PM   #6
Jump1
New Member
1
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: x1 xdrive 28i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

I learned on this forum a while back that Canadian X1's don't have tire pressure monitors. We have FTM or flat tire monitoring, which, according to the manual, "detects a pressure loss in a tire by comparing the rotational speeds of the individual wheels while moving". No need to mess with code. I am happy to say that I haven't had any first hand experience with FTM and can't vouch for it's effectiveness.
Here's the thread where I found that info.
http://e84.xbimmers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=601483
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2015, 02:32 AM   #7
vstolpner
Captain
14
Rep
671
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW X1 xdrive28i
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (0)

I can tell you it's quite ineffective. It'll warn you if you get a flat but realistically you should notice it yourself. Plus I think it needs a couple kilometers to confirm that the tire is actually flat.

I picked up our car from the dealership and then decided to check the tire pressure - all wheels were significantly under inflated anywhere from -7psi to -12psi and the FTM system didn't throw any errors.
It might have been poor setup on the part of the dealer but I no longer rely on the system whatsoever.

The TPMS in my previous US spec Impreza worked great. Though even that only gave me warnings at 5psi under.
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2015, 07:39 AM   #8
improvius
Second Lieutenant
34
Rep
279
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 X28i
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

A 2015 Canadian X1 should have TPMS. I'm not sure when they added the feature, but it was at least 2015 if not a year or two further back. It's simple to confirm: just look at the valve stems. Metal = TPMS, rubber = FTM.

As for effectiveness, I've been quite satisfied with the results. It picks up quickly depending on how low the tire is. The key is understanding how the system works, which is by comparing the rotation of the two tires on the same axle. If both tires are low, it will be difficult for the system to detect a problem. So yes, you do need to make sure your tires are properly inflated for it to be effective. It's an emergency alert system, but it''s not meant to be a substitute for regularly checking the tire pressures manually.

I've had it go off a few times when I had a puncture and very slow leak. Each time it went off while the car was still driveable, at around 7-9 psi loss. So each time I was able to pull over and temporarily re-inflate the damaged tire until I could finally get it repaired.
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2015, 08:22 AM   #9
PrematureApex
Colonel
515
Rep
2,288
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vstolpner View Post
I can tell you it's quite ineffective. It'll warn you if you get a flat but realistically you should notice it yourself. Plus I think it needs a couple kilometers to confirm that the tire is actually flat.

I picked up our car from the dealership and then decided to check the tire pressure - all wheels were significantly under inflated anywhere from -7psi to -12psi and the FTM system didn't throw any errors.
It might have been poor setup on the part of the dealer but I no longer rely on the system whatsoever.
.
Mine have always worked great. But again, it works on a differential, so if all tires are similarly low, yeah. Set up correctly, it works correctly, within a few tenths of a mile usually, if not less.
__________________
'02 S54 M3 (500/500 GC/Koni)
'08 N54 135 (JB4, DCI, BMW PS/Bilstein B6s, H&R M3 FSB, Strongflex FCABs)
'14 N55 X1 (JB4, BMS DP, BMS Intake, Alpina TCU reflash, H&R Sports, Bilstein B6s, E93 M3 RSB, Strongflex FCABs, baby seat)
'08 N54 535xi touring (Bilstein B6s, Downpipes, MHD tune, baby seat)
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2015, 12:58 PM   #10
vstolpner
Captain
14
Rep
671
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW X1 xdrive28i
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (0)

Yeah mine has significant differences between the wheels on same axle and the system never said anything. So I guess that was more incorrect setup on the part of the dealership.

I understand the shortcomings of the system, it was just nice not to have to check the tire pressure with TPMS. Mind you it's nice not to have to purchase sensors for each wheel with FTM :-)

For the record my 2013 X1 has FTM
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2015, 01:24 PM   #11
improvius
Second Lieutenant
34
Rep
279
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 X28i
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vstolpner View Post
Yeah mine has significant differences between the wheels on same axle and the system never said anything. So I guess that was more incorrect setup on the part of the dealership.

I understand the shortcomings of the system, it was just nice not to have to check the tire pressure with TPMS. Mind you it's nice not to have to purchase sensors for each wheel with FTM :-)

For the record my 2013 X1 has FTM
Could also be a difference in tread depth that would throw off FTM. Maybe there was an alignment issue? Or your tires got rotated incorrectly?
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2015, 01:51 PM   #12
PrematureApex
Colonel
515
Rep
2,288
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by improvius View Post
Could also be a difference in tread depth that would throw off FTM. Maybe there was an alignment issue? Or your tires got rotated incorrectly?
Or the system was set when there was a disparity already existing.
__________________
'02 S54 M3 (500/500 GC/Koni)
'08 N54 135 (JB4, DCI, BMW PS/Bilstein B6s, H&R M3 FSB, Strongflex FCABs)
'14 N55 X1 (JB4, BMS DP, BMS Intake, Alpina TCU reflash, H&R Sports, Bilstein B6s, E93 M3 RSB, Strongflex FCABs, baby seat)
'08 N54 535xi touring (Bilstein B6s, Downpipes, MHD tune, baby seat)
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2015, 03:38 PM   #13
Jump1
New Member
1
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: x1 xdrive 28i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
A 2015 Canadian X1 should have TPMS. I'm not sure when they added the feature, but it was at least 2015 if not a year or two further back. It's simple to confirm: just look at the valve stems. Metal = TPMS, rubber = FTM.
That's good to know, the thread where I found my info is pretty old. I'll check when I'm at the dealer next week to see when it changed. My X1 is a 2012 and has FTM only, I always reset the system after adding air and with all tires at correct psi.
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2015, 06:17 PM   #14
vstolpner
Captain
14
Rep
671
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW X1 xdrive28i
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrematureApex View Post
Or the system was set when there was a disparity already existing.
That's what I'm thinking happened. I'm on different wheels and tires now anyway but should probably play with it a bit by letting the air out and see how it responds.

Also I have a feeling that run flat vs non run flat tires make aa difference. The ones that didn't respond were run flats and I'm on non run flats now.
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2015, 09:16 AM   #15
PrematureApex
Colonel
515
Rep
2,288
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vstolpner View Post
That's what I'm thinking happened. I'm on different wheels and tires now anyway but should probably play with it a bit by letting the air out and see how it responds.

Also I have a feeling that run flat vs non run flat tires make aa difference. The ones that didn't respond were run flats and I'm on non run flats now.
Ahhh...that makes sense too. Much less sidewall deflection even when at low pressure, so the diameter is retained. Good call.
__________________
'02 S54 M3 (500/500 GC/Koni)
'08 N54 135 (JB4, DCI, BMW PS/Bilstein B6s, H&R M3 FSB, Strongflex FCABs)
'14 N55 X1 (JB4, BMS DP, BMS Intake, Alpina TCU reflash, H&R Sports, Bilstein B6s, E93 M3 RSB, Strongflex FCABs, baby seat)
'08 N54 535xi touring (Bilstein B6s, Downpipes, MHD tune, baby seat)
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2015, 09:42 AM   #16
Beamer1980
New Member
2
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: X1 xdrive28i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

So turns out my X1 has FTM not TPMS. Not sure if all X1's in Canada are like this but I just got mine brand new, a little less than 2 months ago.

I'm actually glad I don't have to deal with the constant nagging from the system for not having sensors on the winter tires.
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2015, 09:56 AM   #17
Beamer1980
New Member
2
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: X1 xdrive28i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Pics of the new winters.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2015, 09:58 AM   #18
improvius
Second Lieutenant
34
Rep
279
Posts

Drives: 2015 X1 X28i
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

FTM on a 2015? Weird, I was under the impression BMW Canada already switched over to TPMS.
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2015, 12:10 PM   #19
Jump1
New Member
1
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: x1 xdrive 28i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

While in for service last week, the service manager told me that they still use FTM. He says that he has only seen TPMS on a couple of US X1's, and that BMW monitors @ $500 each (sounds high), would make the cost of winter tire packages prohibitive. I took some time to view the new offerings, and noticed only an i8 ( nice car ) and 7 series with TPMS. It may be an option on some of the other series, not sure. I know that some of the older 3 and 5 series rims for sale on Kijiji come with TPMS, so they have been in Canada for a while.
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2015, 03:30 PM   #20
BeEmVe
Second Lieutenant
United_States
27
Rep
297
Posts

Drives: '14 X1 x28i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Salt Lake City, Oootah

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump1 View Post
While in for service last week, the service manager told me that they still use FTM. He says that he has only seen TPMS on a couple of US X1's, and that BMW monitors @ $500 each (sounds high), would make the cost of winter tire packages prohibitive. I took some time to view the new offerings, and noticed only an i8 ( nice car ) and 7 series with TPMS. It may be an option on some of the other series, not sure. I know that some of the older 3 and 5 series rims for sale on Kijiji come with TPMS, so they have been in Canada for a while.
What BMW charges and what the rest of the world charges are night and day. That said $500 for a set of four sounds normal for BMW.

I picked up a new set of four OEM TPMS with stems for $200 USD on ebay. I put them on our summer set up. The work fine. So certainly search the secondary market.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2015, 01:32 AM   #21
halfmoonclip
First Lieutenant
16
Rep
336
Posts

Drives: X1 28i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: westsylvania

iTrader: (0)

My Bride's A4 Audi (an '09) has FTM, and it has always worked just fine, and it's mighty nice to put the winters on w/o any nonsense from the system.
Moon
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2015, 02:11 AM   #22
vstolpner
Captain
14
Rep
671
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW X1 xdrive28i
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (0)

If I recall correctly Audi has proven their system to be good enough that in the US they don't need dedicated TPMS sensors in each wheel. No other company is allowed to do this in the US
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 PM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST