Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

10-19-2010, 01:08 PM   #1
Exotic Hadron
X Eins in der Luft
Rep
Drives: X1

How to Kick-down the Gear

Howdy,

Could somebody please explain how do I shift the gearbox down by kicking it with the throttle pedal? My X1 is the fist ride equipped with automatic gearbox I've ever driven so I am quite new to it. The reason I am asking is that it's hard to take over the other car by just pushing the gas--it leads to overrevs. Am I trying not to spin the engine over 3500 rpms cuz I still haven't completed my fist 1.000 km. when taking over and pushing the gaz, the Engine sometimes spins over 3500 like up to 4.000. What I do is I forcibly stop pushing the throttle when the indicator reaches 3.500 rpms and a few secs later I hear the gearbox shifting to higher gear and the revolutions fall down to like 2.800 rpm. After that I can continue taking over the snail-car. If however I skip doing that and continue pushing the throttle, the engine will spin up to the 4.000. How do I avoid this? I know this could be a stupid question to ask but...

I think I could first kick the gear down. The problem is... I don't know how to do that. The dealer rep told me there's no kick-down in the BMW, the kick-down is supported on Mercedes only (!). I wonder if it's true? In the manual however it reads that I should "Depress the accelerator beyond the resistance at the point of full throttle". As I said, doing so just leads to extreme overrevs and I do not see gearbox shits.

Thrilled waiting for your responses.

TIA.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2010, 02:49 PM   #2
niknik
Private First Class
Portugal
Rep
Drives: X1 23d

Yes, the kick down is there and is activated by pressing the gas pedal to its full extent - "forcing it" a bit after the full throttle point as stated in the manual.

However, how the engine/gearbox reacts will depend on the current conditions.