XBimmers X1

Go Back   XBimmers | BMW X1 Forum > BMW X1 Forums > General BMW X1 (E84) Forum

02-21-2017, 02:05 AM   #1
jaeezzy
Enthusiast
Rep
Drives: BMW X1 sDrive18d M Sport

Rear sway bar upgrade

I'm thinking of changing brake rotors and pads myself and was thinking of upgrading the rear sway bar as well while I'm at it. Mind you I've no any experience on this at all. However watching videos in youtube for brake pad/rotor changes, i felt its achievable. I thought i read here somewhere that rear bar is quite easy as well and saw videos and felt it wasn't too bad but it wasn't on e84. The videos were on different models. I just came across e9x instructions which I guess will have similar rear axle and looks daunting - having to lower the sub-frame etc. So i would appreciate your advice on this.. Thanks

jaeezzy...
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2017, 02:49 AM   #2
0w40X1
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2014 BMW X1 s28i M Sport

I've got the s28i M Sport in US, and it is really a great ride.

I noticed when I picked it up In Germany that it swayed like wind blowing it at 120mph while trying to follow the big boys on the autobahn.

I have staggered 8x18 and 9x18 wheels, so 30 mm wider 255/40r18 P7's on back.

The track is already stock with 1.1 inch wider in back, so I put 12mm spacer just on fronts, and got rid of sway.

Now yours probably has that normal roll if it'st not m sport and a sway might help if it's not too stiff.

If you want to get rid of understeer, and balance steering with minimal effort, I think you could get an alignment, and make sure to dial out some of that negative camber on back wheels that most all cars have now.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2017, 03:19 AM   #3
jaeezzy
Enthusiast
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0w40X1 View Post

I noticed when I picked it up In Germany that it swayed like wind blowing it at 120mph while trying to follow the big boys on the autobahn.

I have staggered 8x18 and 9x18 wheels, so 30 mm wider 255/40r18 P7's on back.