Go Back   XBimmers | BMW X1 Forum > BMW X1 Forums > General BMW X1 (E84) Forum

10-23-2013, 12:06 PM   #1
Eric5273
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2014 BMW X1

About to place an order for a X1...

I'm about to place an order for a new X1 Xdrive28i. In order to be able to afford this car, I have to go very light on the options. Anything higher than around $37k MSRP is going to be out of my price range. As I'm a big tech geek, the one thing that is a "must" is the tech package. I want the big screen with the navigation. That leaves room for a couple other items, but I'm not sure what they should be.

1) A few years back I had a first generation X5, and was not so impressed with the quality of the leather seats. I only had the car 3 years (lease), and by the end of those 3 years the drivers seat looked pretty worn. So I was thinking that I should go with the leatherette both to save money and because it wears a bit better. The dealer showed me a car with leatherette and it seemed fine. I think that most people would not even realize that it's not leather. Any thoughts?

2) Originally I was going to get Jet Black so to avoid the extra charge for metallic paint. But then in the showroom they had a Sapphire Black X1 and IMO it is a beautiful color. I guess the dealer must think so too, because out of 6 different vehicles they had in their showroom, 4 of them had Sapphire Black paint. It really seems to add some sparkle to the car, which is much needed since I won't be getting any of the "line" packages.

3) I was thinking of possibly spending the $600 extra for the upgrade to 18" wheels as I think they look nicer, but I drive a ton through NYC where the roads are very rough and pot hole infested. My last car had 18s and I bent a rim at one point and had to have it replaced. I'm thinking I may be better off with the 17s for that reason, and for better ride quality.